Every Mother Counts

· Uncategorized

I had the opportunity to sing with the radiant Valerie June at the benefit for Every Mother Counts, an organization working towards quality, respectful, and equitable maternity care for all. Thank you to Christy Turlington Burns!

To learn more, please visit https://everymothercounts.org/

A Seat At The Table by Amy Raphael

· Uncategorized

Natalie is among the “women on the frontline of music” interviewed by Amy Raphael for her new book, A Seat at the Table, available now from Virago Press here.

Shows in Ireland with Lúnasa in August

· Uncategorized

Natalie will be joining her friends in Lúnasa as a “special guest” for four shows in their native Ireland in August following her own UK Tour. Tickets for the dates below are on-sale now.

Lúnasa is currently on tour celebrating the band’s 20th Anniversary. Their new album Cas is available now via the band’s online store. Natalie makes an appearance on the track “The Bonny Light Horseman.”

Natalie and Lúnasa first collaborated on her 2010 release Leave Your Sleep.


Hopes And Dreams: The Lullaby Project (Carnegie Hall)

· Uncategorized

Natalie recorded a track for Hopes & Dreams: The Lullaby Project.

Inspired by Carnegie Hall’s Lullaby Project, the album is a collection of songs that mothers and families from across New York City have written for their children, performed by a range of artists including Rhiannon Giddens, Rosanne Cash, Angelique Kidjo, Fiona Apple, and others.

You can listen to or purchase the album HERE.


UK Tour Announcement: A Summer Evening with Natalie Merchant

· Uncategorized

A summer tour of the UK has just been announced. It features towns and cities chosen by Natalie herself and not usually included on her tours.

“I have always enjoyed performing in the UK but have rarely played outside of the major cities. There’s so much of Britain I’ve never seen; I expect this summer’s tour will satisfy my desire to explore those historic and scenic regions while meeting up with my fans who live there.” – Natalie

Tickets go on-sale this Thursday, March 29 at 10am. Visit the tour page for more information.

Hancock Shaker Village – Benefit Concert

· Uncategorized

Natalie will be performing live at Hancock Shaker Village in Pittsfield, MA on September 22nd. It will be an intimate, acoustic concert in their 1910 barn. Natalie will be accompanied by her guitar player Erik Della Penna.

Proceeds from the concert will go to support the education program at Hancock Shaker Village.

Tickets and more info HERE.

UPDATE: due to popular demand, a 2nd show has been added on September 23rd. Tickets go on-sale Aug 24th at 1oam est HERE.

Collaborating with Lúnasa

· Uncategorized

Natalie will be making a special guest appearance with traditional Irish band Lúnasa at the following New York shows this month:

March 13 @ City Winery in NYC (Early Show) – SOLD OUT
March 13 @ City Winery in NYC (Late Show) – Tickets
March 15 @ The Egg in Albany – Tickets

Lúnasa is currently on tour celebrating the band’s 20th Anniversary. Their new album Cas is available now via the band’s online store. Natalie makes an appearance on the track “The Bonny Light Horseman.”

Natalie and Lúnasa first collaborated on her 2010 release Leave Your Sleep.

United We Swing (Wynton Marsalis Septet Collaboration)

· Uncategorized

On March 23rd, Blue Engine Records will release United We Swing: Best of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Galas. Recorded live between 2003 and 2007, the album features a diverse group of artists joining Wynton Marsalis and his band to perform jazz and blues-infected versions of their repertoire.

Natalie contributed a recording of her song “The Worst Thing” – recorded live with Wynton and the Septet at a 2006 gala.  The album will be available in digital/CD/LP formats and can be preordered HERE. 100% of the proceeds go to help support Jazz at Lincoln Center’s music education initiatives.

United We Swing Tracklisting
1. The Last Time feat. Blind Boys of Alabama
2. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry feat. Bob Dylan
3. I’m Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town feat. Ray Charles
4. I’m Not Rough feat. Eric Clapton
5. Creole Love Call feat. Audra McDonald
6. Milk Cow Blues feat. Willie Nelson
7. I’m Gonna Find Another You feat. John Mayer
8. My Baby Don’t Tolerate feat. Lyle Lovett
9. The Worst Thing feat. Natalie Merchant
10. Please Baby Don’t feat. John Legend
11. Mean Old Man feat. James Taylor
12. Are You Gonna Go My Way feat. Lenny Kravitz
13. Fool’s Paradise feat. Jimmy Buffett
14. Empty Bed Blues feat. Carrie Smith
15. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free feat. Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks
16. What Have You Done?

Winter Sale

· Uncategorized

Between now and Dec 15th we’re offering 20% off ALL items in the Natalie Merchant online store. Enter the voucher code “WINTERDEAL” at checkout to receive the discount.

And may we humbly suggest for your holiday shopping: The Natalie Merchant Collection – the 10 disc, career-spanning box set compiled by Natalie herself, and released this past year. The package includes a 100-page lyric book and pictorial history.

MOJO called it “Magnificent… A definitive and absorbing celebration of an artist with a singular voice and vision.”

Or, if you have little ones on your list, we also suggest the Leave Your Sleep album and/or the Leave Your Sleep Children’s Book with illustrations by Barbara McClintock.

Wonder: Film Premiere

· Uncategorized

Natalie attended the premiere of “Wonder” in Los Angeles earlier this week on November 14th. The film is based on R.J. Palacio’s young adult novel of the same name – which was inspired by Natalie’s song.

“What a beautiful, moving adaptation of the book. Please take every child you know to see this film.” – Natalie