Hancock Shaker Village – Benefit Concert

· Uncategorized

Natalie will be performing live at Hancock Shaker Village in Pittsfield, MA on September 22nd. It will be an intimate, acoustic concert in their 1910 barn. Natalie will be accompanied by her guitar player Erik Della Penna.

Proceeds from the concert will go to support the education program at Hancock Shaker Village.

Tickets and more info HERE.

UPDATE: due to popular demand, a 2nd show has been added on September 23rd. Tickets go on-sale Aug 24th at 1oam est HERE.

Collaborating with Lúnasa

· Uncategorized

Natalie will be making a special guest appearance with traditional Irish band Lúnasa at the following New York shows this month:

March 13 @ City Winery in NYC (Early Show) – SOLD OUT
March 13 @ City Winery in NYC (Late Show) – Tickets
March 15 @ The Egg in Albany – Tickets

Lúnasa is currently on tour celebrating the band’s 20th Anniversary. Their new album Cas is available now via the band’s online store. Natalie makes an appearance on the track “The Bonny Light Horseman.”

Natalie and Lúnasa first collaborated on her 2010 release Leave Your Sleep.

United We Swing (Wynton Marsalis Septet Collaboration)

· Uncategorized

On March 23rd, Blue Engine Records will release United We Swing: Best of the Jazz at Lincoln Center Galas. Recorded live between 2003 and 2007, the album features a diverse group of artists joining Wynton Marsalis and his band to perform jazz and blues-infected versions of their repertoire.

Natalie contributed a recording of her song “The Worst Thing” – recorded live with Wynton and the Septet at a 2006 gala.  The album will be available in digital/CD/LP formats and can be preordered HERE. 100% of the proceeds go to help support Jazz at Lincoln Center’s music education initiatives.

United We Swing Tracklisting
1. The Last Time feat. Blind Boys of Alabama
2. It Takes a Lot to Laugh, It Takes a Train to Cry feat. Bob Dylan
3. I’m Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town feat. Ray Charles
4. I’m Not Rough feat. Eric Clapton
5. Creole Love Call feat. Audra McDonald
6. Milk Cow Blues feat. Willie Nelson
7. I’m Gonna Find Another You feat. John Mayer
8. My Baby Don’t Tolerate feat. Lyle Lovett
9. The Worst Thing feat. Natalie Merchant
10. Please Baby Don’t feat. John Legend
11. Mean Old Man feat. James Taylor
12. Are You Gonna Go My Way feat. Lenny Kravitz
13. Fool’s Paradise feat. Jimmy Buffett
14. Empty Bed Blues feat. Carrie Smith
15. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel To Be Free feat. Susan Tedeschi and Derek Trucks
16. What Have You Done?

Winter Sale

· Uncategorized

Between now and Dec 15th we’re offering 20% off ALL items in the Natalie Merchant online store. Enter the voucher code “WINTERDEAL” at checkout to receive the discount.

And may we humbly suggest for your holiday shopping: The Natalie Merchant Collection – the 10 disc, career-spanning box set compiled by Natalie herself, and released this past year. The package includes a 100-page lyric book and pictorial history.

MOJO called it “Magnificent… A definitive and absorbing celebration of an artist with a singular voice and vision.”

Or, if you have little ones on your list, we also suggest the Leave Your Sleep album and/or the Leave Your Sleep Children’s Book with illustrations by Barbara McClintock.

Wonder: Film Premiere

· Uncategorized

Natalie attended the premiere of “Wonder” in Los Angeles earlier this week on November 14th. The film is based on R.J. Palacio’s young adult novel of the same name – which was inspired by Natalie’s song.

“What a beautiful, moving adaptation of the book. Please take every child you know to see this film.” – Natalie


Wonder: Introducing Natalie Merchant released on streaming services

· Uncategorized

Wonder: Introducing Natalie Merchant – a new collection of tracks available exclusively on streaming services – has been assembled and is available starting today on Spotify, Apple Music, etc.

The collection comes in advance of the premiere of the new film Wonder – which was inspired by Natalie’s song of the same name. Based on the 2012 worldwide best-selling young adult novel Wonder by RJ Palacio, the film is in US theaters starting on Nov 17th and stars Julia Roberts, Owen Wilson, Jacob Tremblay, and Mandy Patinkin.

The new collection opens with the original studio recording of “Wonder” from Tigerlily and closes with the 20th anniversary recording of the song from Natalie’s Paradise Is There: The New Tigerlily Recordings. In between are other essential Natalie Merchant tracks from across her 20+ year solo career.

Live Interview + Signing at Oblong Books & Music in Rhinebeck

· Uncategorized

For those of you in the Hudson Valley this weekend…

Oblong Books & Music in Rhinebeck, NY will be hosting an in-store event with Natalie tomorrow night at 8pm. Natalie will be in conversation with author Elizabeth Lesser (cofounder of the Omega Institute), with an audience Q&A to follow. Natalie will also be signing copies of her new box set – which will be available for purchase at Oblong.

The event is free and open to the public on a first-come / first-serve basis. Doors open at 7:30pm. More info here.

Charity Auction: Tickets/Meet & Greet

· Tour

For select concerts on Natalie’s ongoing tour (Natalie Merchant: Three Decades of Song), Natalie is auctioning off special ticket bundles including: a pair of reserved tickets, a meet & greet with Natalie, and a signed copy of her new 10-CD box set.

All proceeds from the auctions will be donated to the organization Food & Water Watch, which champions healthy food and clean water for all. The auctions are taking place HERE where many of them are still in progress.

3 Decades of Song Tour

· Tour

Photograph by Michael Bloom

Natalie Merchant will tour the US this summer, performing songs from across her entire career, with Natalie Merchant: 3 Decades of Song. The tour includes dates at Tanglewood, Wolf Trap, and The Greek in Los Angeles (see full schedule here).

In support of her career retrospective boxed set on Nonesuch, Merchant’s concerts will span her thirty-year recording career, with songs from 10,000 Maniacs and from her solo albums. A string quartet joins Merchant and her regular band for the shows.  A portion of the proceeds from Natalie Merchant: 3 Decades of Song will be donated to the organization Food & Water, which champions healthy food and clean water for all.

Wonder the Film

· Film

Wonder - Teaser Poster


We’re incredibly excited for the release of Wonder, a beautiful and moving film about acceptance, based on the novel of the same name by R.J. Palacio. The film is directed by Stephen Chbosky and stars Julia Roberts and Owen Wilson as the parents of a young boy (portrayed by Jacob Tremblay) struggling to overcome a facial difference. The film will be released on November 17, 2017 by Lionsgate.

Author R.J. Palacio has often credited Natalie’s song “Wonder” from Tigerlily as the inspiration for her best-selling book and at her invitation, the song will be featured in the soundtrack.

See the trailer here.